PDA

View Full Version : super chassis under a early body?

deutschlooker
August 16th 2002, 01:54
how hard would it be to place an early body on a newer superbeetle chassis? that way I could have IRS like i want

Superman
August 16th 2002, 06:07
It's hard for me to answer that because we don't have swing axle Supers in good ole USA, so I have no hands on experience. However, to the best of my knowledge, it shouldn't be any more difficult than a normal pan swap. Keep in mind that the seat tracks are different. The frame head in '75 is shaped a little different on the top (for the R&P steering) but that's not going to be a problem. There is a extra fuel line (on the FI cars) that you won't need. I'm 99% sure it will work.

American Supers never got discs in the front and some European Supers have swing axle. Strange we got the good rear and you got the good front.

vujade
August 16th 2002, 06:41
concerning the swingaxle vs irs rear end and the drum brake vs disc brake front axle, neither of these is going to be an issue with a body swap. The main issues here to work out will be the different frame head of the super beetle used for its strut front end and the attach points of the struts to the inner fenders.

Chris Percival
August 16th 2002, 06:59
Originally posted by Superman

some European Supers have swing axle.

Really?

samcat
August 16th 2002, 07:15
If my brain is working right (no guarantees there I'm afraid) it was on Semi-Auto's

Sam C

Superman
August 16th 2002, 12:15
Well Chris you can actually answer that better than me since you are there. So many different counties use different parts. Even the Mexican Beetle up to 2001 has a swing axle.

Superman
August 16th 2002, 12:17
Originally posted by deutschlooker

how hard would it be to place an early body on a newer superbeetle chassis? that way I could have IRS like i want

You do mean a early [Super] body to late superbeetle chassis, correct? (that's how I answered the question)

CPRcubed