PDA

View Full Version : rust reapair near rear vents (half moons)

super vw
May 3rd 2003, 23:06
Im just about to get started on repairing the rust holes around the lower rear window and rear vents (half moon things) and wanted to ask if you guys have any tips or things i should watch out for when replacing the panels in this area.
If you look at the pics you can see that one side it not doing so great, how much of that area should i cut out? should/ can i leave the gutter in place? Or do i have to cut the whole section out arund the rust? i have a donnor 72 super that im getting the metal from. And im using a Hobart 135 MIG welder with .23 solid wire and 25/75 Co2/Argon mix.

so any advice, tips...ect would would be cool. considering im a novice at welding and body work. but i have already welded in floor pans on my 74 super so im not a compleate newbie.

Thanks!
Jonathan:)

super vw
May 3rd 2003, 23:12
another pic of the same side, but this hole is closer tords the front and more near the vents.

this pic is simmilar to what the drivers side looks like, not to major unlike the pass side...

Alex
May 4th 2003, 07:06
Here is what I would do:

Cut out the metal and replace it. If you cut it make sure you clean as much of the rust inside as possible to prevent new holes from coming up.

One thing I have to say though......I can ot weld. I make bigger holes than closing them. So please take this advice with caution.

Once it is fixed and covered with paint oil the inside as much as possible to stop any further rust.

Alex

super vw
May 4th 2003, 13:53
should i cut out the gutter with it aswell?

Alex
May 4th 2003, 14:10
Not sure.....

Maybe someone else can answer that.

Alex

super vw
May 4th 2003, 14:12
ya, ok... i need all the help i can get becuase i DONT want to screw up my body :S

thanks!

oasis
May 5th 2003, 11:36