PDA

View Full Version : custom fiberglass

dean_harryman
February 28th 2005, 00:26
I am new to the fiber glass world....but I have done some work on a bear for an auction......we used that foam you squirt in your walls and I cut and shaped the foam then someone coated it in fiber glass...I was wondering if this is a technique i can use to build a air dam and rear fin.....anything will help at this point....THANKS

tom'72
February 28th 2005, 12:21
Yes, that method is possible (hard to make it symmetrical but possible), make sure you use poly eurethane and not some foam that reacts whit the glass fiber and melts.

dean_harryman
February 28th 2005, 17:04
so if I where to make a front air dam...I would just lay thefierglass over the foam....then could I remove most of the foam from the back and lay fiberglass on the inide too or just leve it and fiberglass with the foam inside??? would the foam add any strength??

rustbucket
February 28th 2005, 21:41
The foam really wouldn't add anything in my opinion. If you use a releasing agent on the surface of the foam, the fiberglass won't stick to the foam, but will retain the shape.

dean_harryman
March 1st 2005, 01:52
thanks for all of your replys...I think I am gonna try some fiberglass....soon....and I may try to build my own air dam....if someone could give me a link to where I can get materials reletivly inexpensively I would appreciate it

tom'72
March 1st 2005, 06:37
to make things like spoilers on a car MDF wood is also used to create the shape, release agent on the finished piece of MDF and the fiberglass over that.

dean_harryman
March 2nd 2005, 04:45