PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about upgrading brakes, suspension and WHEELS

LOAF
October 29th 2002, 15:01
Helllo, I am a newbie to this forum and I must say that it is top notch.. (please Commend yourselves).. I have a 78 Vert that I am trying to restore and make a GL.. My situation/question is the following:
I am looking at purchasing the Top line struts w/the narrower springs "MaXX Strut for the "German Look!", along with their super beetle disk brake package for the front , or a set from aircooled.com or C.B. Performance Disk Brake Conversion Kits w/their rear brake kit w/e-brake.
I don't plan on going to the strip often, but will be driving on the NJ highways about 100 miles round trip..
My concern is if these products will suffice for normal driving or do I need to upgrade to a porche hybrid setup.. I don't have bottomless pockets.. Also is it necessary to go with 4 wheel disks all-around or is front with better or newer rears enough.. Does M/C need to be upgraded.. Lastly I was looking at these wheels make by Volk Racing "SE37K" in 17 x 7.5 in either (4x100 or 5X100) with 40 offset for 4x100 and 48 for 5x100, will this be a problem or will I have to use huge spacers to clear discs and struts.. Also are the above brake kits hubcentric and be able to work with honda type wheels
Please advise..

NYBugman1972
October 29th 2002, 21:45
My setup is as such:

MaXX Struts, 17x7 turbo twists w. 205-40-17 and 17x8.5 wheels with 245-45-17, Topline's 5x130 drilled and grooved disks up front with 7/8" swaybar, rear 5x130 drums and 1" spacer, and 1.25" wider fiberglass rear fenders.

That'll be fine for daily driving, although you may want to go disks out back too.

Do yourself the favor and buy the MaXX's and the Disks and Swaybar from Topline. It's an easy install if you know your way around your car. I love mine :)

I use a stock M/C. No problems at all.