GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Engines

Old March 30th 2005, 20:54

fabbed up cooling shroud

Hi all,

last year i fabbed up a shroud for my 911 fan, here are some pics for everyone to review any suggestions or constructive criticizm are welcome.

basically i made it bolt in as a replacement for a type 1 shoud, I am not running an oil cooler in the stock location, it is at the front of the car since i am running a dry sump system. The engine is apart now, but i intend to run the stock warm up flaps and thermostat.

Bry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg steel_shoud1.jpg (65.9 KB, 274 views)
File Type: jpg steel_shoud5.jpg (54.8 KB, 215 views)
File Type: jpg steel_shoud4.jpg (39.2 KB, 181 views)
File Type: jpg steel_shoud3.jpg (59.6 KB, 182 views)
File Type: jpg steel_shoud2.jpg (61.2 KB, 188 views)
Old March 30th 2005, 21:42

will you be running dual CHT or something to judge the performance of the shroud? i am far from an expert, but looking at how Porsche handled the air coming off the front of the fan, i suspect you will see some issues. you have a vertical divider which i would think will starve the right side since the air wants to work around in a clockwise motion. Porsche used a cone on the front side of the fan, to keep the air swirling i assume. i would think you need to move that divider further away from the fan.

just my amateur 2 cents. i'm sure there will be some more accurate assessments coming. considering the amount of air flow study Jake has done over the past year with the T1 DTM and the 911 shroud testing, he could probably add some valuable input as well.

Company Branding, Graphic Design, and Web Services at DigiVinci Design
Old March 31st 2005, 09:58
Administrator

Bry,

I always wondered how you made that 911 fan fit the T1 cylinder tin

I have a datalogger that I built that could be used to monitor the temps, but you'll have to supply the TC's, could discuss at the April meet.