GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Suspension

Old November 2nd 2004, 10:05

Lowering the rear..

Ive heard people talking about lowering the rear of a bug simply by messing with a tensioner arm, tensioner spring, tensioner bolt or something along those lines. I was wondering if anyone would know how to go about this?
Old March 23rd 2008, 03:32
emil_MK

Sorry to Bring up such an old thread, but could someone please confirm this process. Yes, I'm new to VW's.

Thanks heaps, Kevin

P.S. Did the search thing and this was all I came up with
Old March 23rd 2008, 09:40

This is probably what hes talking about.
http://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=ACC%2DC10%2D4011
Old March 27th 2008, 17:11

Quote:
Originally Posted by ECBug View Post
Those are adjustable, but you don't need to have the adjustment if you want to keep it simple.

To just lower the rear of your vehicle your going to rotate the torsion plate around the torsion bar by a pre-determined number of splines. You'll need to spray the 4 bolts on the torsion housing cover and the 3 bolts on the axle with a penatrating lubricant(WD40) and leave it for a couple of days doing resprays. Mark the forward/back position of the axle's relationship to the torsion plate so you can put it back there again.