GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Engines

Old June 14th 2007, 22:23

help please

my first but and i have some questions. can somebody please help me?
I'm working on a 68 bug (stock right now), i just installed a full flow oil pump cover the old stop muffler pre-heater pipe is in the way of the oil filter, should i have the pre-heater pipe re-routed to make room for the filter or replace the stock exaust with a header without the pipe ( i was thanking of the merged exaust or the Tri-mill),will it be ok without the preheaters? and if so what kind of header will still work with my heater boxes. and if i do replace them what do i do about the open preheater pipes.

sorry to ask so much but there is nobody around who knows about vw's to help me with this and i'm not a very mechanical person.

Thank you for any help
Old June 14th 2007, 23:47

does the wku in your name stand for the hilltoppers? i go there but i don't know as much as i should about your question, but i can tell you that tons of aftermarket exhausts work with your heater boxes, so that's no problem.

if you are in fact in bg i can tell you what i know of the veedub community here.

1979 'vert w/944 NA brakes + Boxster S wheels and begging for a paint job and a Subie swap
Old June 15th 2007, 11:42

The aftermarket headers (made for heater boxes) have the mounting for preheaters, but you have to drill a hole through the center of them. They come welded closed for people running FI, or Carbs that don't have a preheat set-up. The header would be easier than messing with relocating factory tube, and possibly causing a exhuast leak.

1962 SC 1776cc SP 944NA brakes, 993 wheels

VKG
Old June 15th 2007, 14:58

yes i'm in bg, i didn't know there was any kind of vw community. I would like to hear more about it. Do you own the red convertable over near Doughnut King? I pass by it everyday