GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 12th 2006, 13:15
02cab 02cab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: edinburgh,scotland
Posts: 45
pictures of dash please

im looking for some pictures of peoples dash to give me an idea on my cab im g looking. i cant decide where i want things.At the moment its under full restoration and a flat dash has just been welded and smoothed in and looks a shame to cut for any guages cant decide on 1 or 2 and clip some small 1s underneath the dash,

i need some pictures.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 13th 2006, 01:27
Bill K.'s Avatar
Bill K. Bill K. is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodinville, Wa
Posts: 210




My layout is modeled after Porsche layout. It makes sense to have the tach in the middle for visibility to hit the shift points. Be aware of steering wheel and seat location when planning your gauge location. I have a hard time seeing my speedometer between around 70-80 mph due to my height, seat location/height, steering wheel, and gauge. Same problem with the oil temp gauge... The steering wheel will always block something, its a matter of deciding what is least important to see at a glance. I have a loud buzzer connected to my idiot lights for extra insurance (not active when engine is off).

What gauges are you considering?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 13th 2006, 08:03
Dasdubber's Avatar
Dasdubber Dasdubber is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 208
Not the best pic but should give you the idea of what it looks like..



There are heaps of pics of the car at:
http://www.manxgallery.org/gallery/album95

I've dropped the centre section of the dash down in metal to run a head unit, and the three gauges in the dash as well.

Cheers
Alan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 21st 2006, 16:24
Bogara_ZO's Avatar
Bogara_ZO Bogara_ZO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Posts: 426
I'm trying to attach files. The yellow is my dash with 944 g.-es the other one is the coolest installation of the small ones I've ver seen
Mine is too big how can I make a smaller file from it??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg kisműszer.jpg (32.0 KB, 229 views)
__________________
13o2 oldschool
http://sleepair.blogspot.co.at/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 21st 2006, 18:48
02cab 02cab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: edinburgh,scotland
Posts: 45
thanks for the pictures,the only thing is its a cabrio so i dont think i could have them there,but great idea

i was thinking the carbon fibre auto meter 1s Bill,maybe just 2 x 5" 1s in dash although could put a speedo in dash and go for Alans idea with the tacho,i do love that car Alan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 22nd 2006, 06:24
Mikey's Avatar
Mikey Mikey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Posts: 637
Check out my setup. It's a Ghia, but I'm using autometer guages. I was originaly going to go Type 4, so I bought my guages tailered to an aircooled engine. (oil temp, oil press, and CHT.) but left to right

CHT, Tach, Fuel Level, Speedo, (top 2) Boost/Vac, Water Temp, (bottom 2) Oil press, oil temp.

I wasn't sure about using all the guages but I figured I had them, I should just use them. I still might change out the CHT. Like my racing wheel in the last picture?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Guages 001 (Small).jpg (51.0 KB, 293 views)
File Type: jpg Guages 003 (Small).jpg (49.0 KB, 237 views)
File Type: jpg Guages 004 (Small).jpg (57.7 KB, 241 views)
__________________
Mike
'04 R32 Tornado Red
'02 New Beetle TDI - Daily driver
'64 Ghia - Project!!-Subaru EJ20T, MS/EDIS, 993 brakes, 914 Tranny...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 22nd 2006, 13:42
Bogara_ZO's Avatar
Bogara_ZO Bogara_ZO is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hungary - Budapest
Posts: 426
WOW Mikey that steering wheel is amazing!! Where can I get a similar one? but the dash is cool

@02cab
Personally I don't like guages under the dash..During you are driving it's far enough to not see it in every moment. Only in old bugs is an "acceptable" solution for me, if you don't want to cut your original dash..but also in this case I would put it on the top and not uder. Or why don't you use a monster tacho just instead of your original speedo?? If you goes with 17-18 rims the speedo is useless, will show you bad units... but naturally this is just my way of thinking, don't wanna say anything bad about anybody's ride

how can I make a smaller file format from a big one??? SOMEBODY PLS HELP
__________________
13o2 oldschool
http://sleepair.blogspot.co.at/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 22nd 2006, 14:13
02cab 02cab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: edinburgh,scotland
Posts: 45
im going with 17"s,i like mikeys idea with 2 big 1s side by side

maybe use www.photobucket.com to post a picture?

thanks for the replies,keep them coming
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 22nd 2006, 14:16
Mikey's Avatar
Mikey Mikey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Posts: 637
Thanks for the compliment on the wheel.

I didn't want my guages hanging under the dash either. I didn't like the way it looks, but to each his own. I didn't want to take my eyes off the road very long just to check the temps. The lights aren't there yet, but I will have warnging lights.

You can use a speedo with 17's and 18's or any rim size. My speedo is electrical, but I bought a sensor from Speedometer Service for about $100. But at least my speedo will be right on.

To change pictures, simply right click on the picture you want to downsize. Then click 'resize pictures', then click small, and 'ok'. and it'll resize the picture and put it in the folder with the original picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogara_ZO
WOW Mikey that steering wheel is amazing!! Where can I get a similar one? but the dash is cool

@02cab
Personally I don't like guages under the dash..During you are driving it's far enough to not see it in every moment. Only in old bugs is an "acceptable" solution for me, if you don't want to cut your original dash..but also in this case I would put it on the top and not uder. Or why don't you use a monster tacho just instead of your original speedo?? If you goes with 17-18 rims the speedo is useless, will show you bad units... but naturally this is just my way of thinking, don't wanna say anything bad about anybody's ride

how can I make a smaller file format from a big one??? SOMEBODY PLS HELP
__________________
Mike
'04 R32 Tornado Red
'02 New Beetle TDI - Daily driver
'64 Ghia - Project!!-Subaru EJ20T, MS/EDIS, 993 brakes, 914 Tranny...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 22nd 2006, 20:32
Steve C's Avatar
Steve C Steve C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,666
Hi

This is what I did with my old 1302.



Regarding tyre size, you would be surprised how close 17 inch tyres are to stock tyre heights. The speedo that I used was a really old Stewart Warner, the SW stockist made a ratio box to correct the speedo, the later electronic speedos are much better in this respect as they can be adjusted for various wheels. If you want an accurate speedo at low cost you can always get an electronic speedo from a push bike.


This what a friend did with his car, monster tach where the speedo was and a VDO electronic speedo in the dash grille.

__________________
STI powered 1303 in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 25th 2006, 20:15
Steve C's Avatar
Steve C Steve C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,666
Hi

I reckon one of these Boxster dashs would look great in a bug.

Steve

__________________
STI powered 1303 in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 26th 2006, 10:08
Dasdubber's Avatar
Dasdubber Dasdubber is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02cab
thanks for the pictures,the only thing is its a cabrio so i dont think i could have them there,but great idea

i was thinking the carbon fibre auto meter 1s Bill,maybe just 2 x 5" 1s in dash although could put a speedo in dash and go for Alans idea with the tacho,i do love that car Alan
Cheers mate
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 26th 2006, 13:24
65Cabby's Avatar
65Cabby 65Cabby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrow, London
Posts: 61
My car may be 2.3 fuel injected running big reds and 17" cup wheels but the dash looks nice and period, what do you think?.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 27th 2006, 04:40
dubKustom's Avatar
dubKustom dubKustom is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 18
65Cabby: those gauges look really good with the stock speedo! Have you got a brand/dealer/price/webpage about them?
Those would look right at home on my project...

/Cheers Daniel
__________________
Type 1 -69 in Gothenburg, Sweden
70's German Look in the making
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 27th 2006, 13:39
Hebster52's Avatar
Hebster52 Hebster52 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Cabby
My car may be 2.3 fuel injected running big reds and 17" cup wheels but the dash looks nice and period, what do you think?.
Real nice including the early standard steeringwheel. :agree:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
© www.GermanLook.net 2002-2017. All Rights Reserved