GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Electrical

Old February 24th 2004, 01:16

Wiring a "system" into My 73 Beetle

Hey all, I'm new to the board, and was wondering about my 73' beetle.
I got the car for free, and it is in need of some cosmetic restorations. I'll start thinking about the mechanical upgrades later on :-).

Being a total newbie to all of this, I have a question that might sound quite stupid...

If I wanted to wire a brand new amplifier, sub-woofer, head unit and 4 tweeters into my volkswagen...would it be able to handle it?

If not, how would I be able to modify the car so that it WILL handle it?

Also, I need to restore the inside of the car.
This means I need to have the front panel/dashboard redone. It's old and cracked, and it needs new switches and gauges. Any ideas on that?

Also, I'd like to install some really nice "race" or "bucket" seats for the driver/passenger seats in the front...and I am totally clueless what to do with the back. I don't know whether I can replace it, or change it...or what? I do, however, need the seats in the back for the passenger/cargo space.

Finally, what can I do with the "flooring" of the car?

I'm working with a budget of about 1500$ for the interior of the car. I'm not a mechanic myself...so whatever work that has to be done will be done by my uncle/grandfather OR mechanic.

Everybody's input is greatly appreciated.

|TempesT|
Old February 24th 2004, 01:32

There are at least two tech articles on "system" installation in a bug on the main page.

When you said "flooring" did you mean that you have holes in your floor pans. If thats the case then you will have to either replace the pans completely of just halfs of them depending on how bad they are rusted.
www.volksport.net Volksport Kfer Gruppe
Old February 24th 2004, 01:37

I appologize

I appologize for being the helpless newbie that I am, but could you please direct to me to those articles?

No idea where to find them :-(