GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Body

Old February 12th 2007, 14:43

'68 fenders on a '71 superbeetle?

hi, newbie here...

i was just wondering if it was possible to fit the 68 and later-style fenders on my 1971 superbeetle. I want the standard look, but with the strut suspension of the superbeetle. i was thinking of getting the whole front-end fiberglass or c/f.

p.s.---has anyone done this?
Old February 12th 2007, 19:10

a front end will not work on a superbeetle (1302/1303) cos the struts mount on the inner fenders, so they have to be metal and fixed properly to the whole car to widthstand the loads of the suspension.

As for fenders ive seen the old ones (with thee slopping headlights for 1303.

Im not sure the 1302 fenders are interchangeable with the 1303. I think the aren't.

Hope i helped

Chris

1973 1303 going towards GL
Old February 12th 2007, 21:00

Rear fenders are the same but the fronts are not. You may be able to get a fiberglass front end that looks like a standard but wider for the super front end.
Old February 13th 2007, 12:25

When I read the question the first time, I assumed it was about the rear fenders only. That way, one could get earlier taillights on their Super. (In the US, the taillights went larger for 1971 and 1972.) Swapping for 1968-70 rear fenders would be easy.

A 1968-specific front fender would still have the upright headlamp, so I don't see the reason for wanting it over a '71 Super front fender. The only difference -- a big difference at that -- is the '68 fender would be shorter. Even if shorter front fenders were somehow fabricated to work, the longer hood would be even more pronounced.

To get pre-1967 headlamps, Creative Car Craft makes fiberglass fenders for that. You can only get them as wider than stock, however.
Old February 13th 2007, 13:47